12.1.X Anna Fong/Stacie Fujisaki Excellence in Pharmacy Research Award

This annual award is given to honor the lives and legacies of Anna Fong and Stacie Fujisaki in recognition of their passion for and contribution to clinical research and to promote research and dissemination in the areas of pharmacy practice and pharmaceutical care.

Anna was a graduate of OSU College of Pharmacy, a PGY1 resident at the Portland VA Medical Center, and an ambulatory care specialist at the VA until she passed away from colon cancer. She was active in OSHP and was highly regarded for her ability to propose and support residency projects.

Stacie supported a number of residency projects, pharmacy initiatives, and clinical trials in her role with the OHSU research department and was well known for her friendly demeanor and unique ability to demystify the IRB process. She was a loving wife and mother until her untimely passing due to cancer.

Criteria: The award recognizes the lead author of a pharmacy research poster presented at the OSHP Annual Seminar each year as selected by an ad hoc committee of poster judges based on the following criteria:

- I. Innovation and practicality of research question to pharmacy practice or pharmaceutical care
- II. Validity of research methodology
- III. Completeness of results and appropriateness of conclusions
- IV. Poster appearance (organization, clarity, etc.)
- V. Ability of presenter to demonstrate subject knowledge and communicate technical information

The Annual Seminar Planning Committee shall identify and appoint a minimum of three judges who shall disclose any known conflicts of interest and recuse themselves from judging any poster by coworkers/students from their institutions, relatives, or any other party they cannot judge impartially.

The award is divided into two categories: (1) student research and (2) practitioner research. Each recipient will be presented with an award certificate and a monetary award. The amount of the monetary award will be dictated by the amount budgeted for that fiscal year as decided by the Executive Committee.

Eligibility: Any student pharmacist or practitioner who is not an elected officer or paid employee of OSHP is eligible. Awardees must be listed as the lead author on the poster and be present during the poster session to interact with the judging committee. The awardee may be a past recipient of this award.